This tutorial covers these topics: 

  1. How to create a new project
  2. How to copy a project
  3. How to rename projects
  4. How to email a project
  5. How to merge a project
  6. How to delete or recover a deleted project
  7. How to archive projects
  8. How to share a project with your teacher
  9. How to share a project with your teammates
  10. How to write and respond to project comments



1. How to create a new project


On the Projects screen, click New Project.



On the "Create a New Project" screen, provide information about the project:




1. Enter a Project title. Enter a brief description that will help you remember the contents or purpose of this project when you see it later among other projects in your account.


2. Select a Citation style. Ask your teacher or instructor before choosing between MLA, APA, and Chicago. You will be able to change the style later if you need to, but since the data required to cite a source in one style can be different in another style, it is always best to start with the citation style your teacher is requesting. NOTE: If you are using NoodleTools MLA Lite, the style is automatically set to MLA and you will not see this option.


3. Select a Citation level. NoodleTools allows you to select between three levels: Starter, Junior and Advanced. These are intended to roughly correlate with a student’s grade level:


 •  Starter: Elementary school or middle school ESL learners

 •  Junior: Middle school or high school ESL learners

 •  Advanced: High school, college, graduate school, and professional


NOTE : If you are using NoodleTools MLA Lite, the level is automatically set to Advanced and you will not see this option. The free NoodleTools Express tool is set to Advanced.


4. Click Submit to create your new project. if you change your mind, click “X” in the upper right corner to return to your Projects screen.


When you open your new project, the first screen will be the Dashboard. See “How to use the Dashboard.”


See video below for a quick demonstration on how to create a new project in NoodleTools: 





2. How to copy a project


To copy a project, on the Projects screen, next to your project select the Options menu and Copy.




You can create a duplicate copy of an entire project (source list, notecards and outline) in your own folder, or transfer a copy to another NoodleTools user. For instructions on how to copy individual citations, see “How copy a source reference to another project.”


To copy more than one project at a time, mark the checkboxes next to the projects you wish to copy and click Copy at the top of the Projects screen.




On the popup screen, Copy projects, select my own personal folder if you want to duplicate the project in the same folder, or select another user’s folder and enter a personal ID to transfer a copy of the project to another user.




If there is a paper (in Google Doc) associated with the project, check the box next to Copy the linked Google Doc (if any).


If you have work under two separate NoodleTools accounts, (for example, one free MLA Lite account and one account under a school’s subscription), the copy feature is a simple way of gathering all your work into a single account. (Only MLA Advanced level projects can be copied to a user’s free NoodleTools MLA Lite account.) 

 

Note: If there is more than one user with the same personal ID, you may be prompted to identify the school or account type of the user before the transfer completes.



3. How to rename projects


To rename a project, on the Projects screen, next to your project select the Options menu and Rename. You will be prompted to enter a new description for the project. Each project in your folder should have a unique name.


 


4. How to email a project


You can email a RTF version of your source list and an HTML version of your notecards and/or outline to yourself or someone else. The recipient will be able to open the source list in a word processing program. The HTML versions of the notecards and outline can be opened in any Web browser. The recipient is not able to log in to your personal folder or change your master project in any way – only a copy of your work is sent. While there is also no way for the recipient to import the RTF version of your source list into their own personal folder, you can share an editable copy of your project with another NoodleTools user. See “How to copy a project" above. 


1. On the Sources screen, click Email.




2. Enter your name.


3. Enter the recipient’s email address.


4. If your source list contains notecards or an outline, check the box to Include outline or / and Include notecards.


5. Click Send to email the source list and outline and/or notecards.


NOTE: The Google Docs paper is not included in the email. If you want to email the paper to someone, log in to your Google Docs account and email it from there.



5. How to merge a project


Two or more projects in your account can be merged into a single project. As a safeguard, the original projects you select to merge will also remain in your account unchanged. The new merged project will be added to your account, identified by a new description that you provide.

 

NOTE: Merging projects with different levels will result in a project set to the highest level (e.g., merging a Starter and Junior project will yield a Junior-level project).

 

1. On the Projects screen, check the boxes next to the projects that you want to merge. NOTE: All projects must contain source lists of the same style.


2. Click Merge above the projects.




3. Enter a new Project title for the merged project.


4. If you want to prevent duplicate citations from appearing in the new source list, check the box next to Remove duplicate citations from merged project.


5. If the original projects have notecards, decide whether or not you would like those notecards to be transferred to the merged project. By default, Include notecards from original projects (if any) in merged project is checked.


NOTE: Checking both the “remove duplicates” and the “include notecards” options can potentially cause unwanted results. If there are duplicate citations that have different sets of associated notecards, then only one set of those notecards will be transferred to the merged list.


More than one outline from the selected projects cannot be merged. Under Include outline from… select which project’s outline you want to include in the new merged project.


6. Click Submit.



6. How to delete or recover a deleted project


One or more projects can be deleted by checking the boxes to the left of the projects on the Projects screen, and click Delete above the projects. The selected projects will no longer appear in your account.



As a safeguard, NoodleTools does not remove deleted projects - they are removed only from view on your Dashboard. To recover a deleted project, click Undelete.

 

NOTE TO COLLABORATORS: If you select a collaborative project and delete it from your Projects list, the project is not deleted at all – you are simply removed as a collaborator from that project. The project will still remain visible to your teammates. If you accidentally delete a collaborative project from your folder, ask one of your teammates to re-add you as a collaborator to the project. For more information, see “How to set up a collaboration with your classmates.”



7. How to archive projects


While it may make sense to remove some projects you no longer need, you may also decide to keep certain projects for future reference or as part of your academic portfolio. As your projects pile up, it may become more difficult to find current work and can even slow down the Projects screen loading time. To solve this, you should archive old projects.

 

Projects can be archived via the Archive on the Projects screen.



 

To view archived projects, check the box next to Show archived projects.


Archived projects are highlighted in pink. Archiving a project has no effect on its Shared or Collaborating status. A teacher that you have shared the project with will still be able to view and comment on the project. Team members of a collaborative project that you archived will continue to see and have full access to edit the project.

 

If you want to continue working on an archived project, you will need to move it back among your current projects by checking the box next to the project’s title and click Unarchive above the project list.



8. How to share a project with your teacher


See “How to share your project with a teacher.”



9. How to share a project with your teammates


See “How to set up a collaboration with your classmates.”



 10. How to write and respond to project comments

See "How to write and respond to project comments (the basics)."